Heart of the South West Joint Committee Friday 5 October 2018 1.30 pm Blackdown Suite, Holiday Inn, Junction 25, Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton, Somerset TA1 2UA



To: The Members of the Heart of the South West Joint Committee

Nominated Members

Cllr John Hart	Leader - Devon County Council
Cllr David Fothergill	Leader - Somerset County Council
Cllr Tudor Evans	Leader - Plymouth City Council
Cllr David Thomas	Leader - Torbay Council
Cllr Peter Edwards	Leader - Exeter City Council
Cllr Clive Eginton	Leader - Mid Devon District Council
Cllr John Tucker	Leader - South Hams District Council
Cllr Jane Whittaker	Leader - Torridge District Council
Cllr Philip Sanders	Leader - West Devon Borough Council
Cllr Val Keitch	Leader - South Somerset District Council
Cllr John Williams	Leader - Taunton Deane Borough Council
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew	Leader - West Somerset Council
Cllr Andrea Davis	Deputy Chairman - Exmoor National Park Authority
Cllr Jeremy Christophers	Leader – Teignbridge District Council
Cllr Duncan McGinty	Leader – Sedgemoor District Council
Cllr David Brailey	Leader – North Devon District Council
Cllr Bill Hitchins	Chairman – Dartmoor National Park Authority
Cllr Harvey Siggs	Leader – Mendip District Council
Cllr Ian Thomas	Leader – East Devon District Council

Nominated Substitute Members

Nominated Substitute Members		
Cllr Paul Diviani	East Devon District Council	
Cllr Rachel Sutton	Exeter City Council	
Cllr Peter Smith	Plymouth City Council	
Cllr Steven Pugsley	West Somerset Council	
Cllr Mark Edwards	Taunton Deane Borough Council	
Cllr Mike Edmunds	North Devon District Council	
Cllr Lois Samuel	West Devon District Council	
Cllr Jo Roundell Greene	South Somerset District Council	
Cllr Humphrey Clemens	Teignbridge District Council	
Cllr Dawn Hill	Sedgemoor District Council	
Cllr David Hurley	Torridge	
Andrew Cooper	Secretary of State Appointee - Dartmoor National	
	Park Authority	
Cllr Alan Tyreman	Torbay Council	
Cllr David Hall	Somerset County Council	
Cllr Tom Killen	Mendip District Council	

Cllr Stuart Barker	Devon County Council
Cllr Simon Wright	South Hams District Council
Robin Milton	Exmoor National Park Authority
Cllr Richard Chesterton	Mid Devon District Council

Non Voting Members

Steve Hindley	Chair of Heart of the South West Local Enterprise
	Partnership

Issued By Julian Gale, Strategic Manager - Governance and Risk - Date Not Specified

For further information about the meeting, please contact Julian Gale, Democratic Services, Somerset County Council or 01823 357628

Guidance about procedures at the meeting follows the printed agenda.

This meeting will be open to the public and press, subject to the passing of any resolution under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

This agenda and the attached reports and background papers are available on request prior to the meeting in large print, Braille, audio tape & disc and can be translated into different languages. They can also be accessed via the council's website on www.somerset.gov.uk/agendasandpapers











RNID typetalk

AGENDA

Item Heart of the South West Joint Committee - 1.30 pm Friday 5 October 2018

Guidance Notes

1 Apologies for absence

To be reported and recorded

2 Declarations of Interest

3 Minutes of the previous HotSW Joint Committee (Pages 7 - 16)

To agree the minutes of the meeting held on 25th May 2018 as a correct record.

4 Public Question Time

The Chair will allow members of the public to present a petition on any matter within the Committee's remit. Questions or statements about any matter on the agenda for this meeting will be taken at the time when each matter is considered.

5 Chair's Update

Cllr David Fothergill (Chair) and David Ralph (Chief Executive – HotSW Local Enterprise Partnership) to present

6 HotSW Joint Committee - Senior Responsible Officer's update and position statement

Tracey Lee, Chief Executive - Plymouth City Council to present

7 HotSW Productivity Strategy Delivery Plan Update (Pages 17 - 76)

To consider and endorse phase 1 of the Delivery Plan and Communications document for the Productivity Strategy (Papers 7, 7.0a and 7.0b) to be presented by Tracey Lee, SRO for the Joint Committee and David Ralph, Chief Executive of the Local Enterprise Partnership.

8 Local Industrial Strategy Update

To consider an update from David Ralph, Chief Executive of the Local Enterprise Partnership.

9 HotSW Joint Committee Governance report update (Pages 77 - 86)

To consider a report covering (Papers 9 and 9a), providing an update on governance issues affecting the Joint Committee and related recommendations – to be presented by Julian Gale, Strategic Manager – Partnership Governance, Somerset County Council.

Item Heart of the South West Joint Committee - 1.30 pm Friday 5 October 2018

10 Brexit Opportunities & Resilience Group

To consider an update to be presented by Phil Norrey, Chief Executive, Devon County Council.

11 Transport for the South West Peninsula update

To consider an update by Julian Gale, Strategic Manager – Partnership Governance, Somerset County Council.

12 Date of Next Meeting:

To note that the next meeting of the Joint Committee meeting will be held on Friday 30th November 2018 at 10.00pm – venue to be confirmed. Work programme for this meeting to include:

- To consider the Opportunities document phase 2
- To consider the Delivery Plan phase 2
- To agree principles for the investment framework
- To consider a draft budget for the JC for 2019/20

13 Any Other Business